Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok so im new to fly fishing, i just bought my rod a couple of months ago. I am addicted to using flys w/a bubble...thats how ive caught many of my fish recently. I have a couple of questions regarding river/stream fishing. Ive gone to the dream stream 3 different times in the last month and have some observations. Please feel to expand on what ive noticed so far.
1st time we went, the fish were hitting hard early morning until sun broke up the over cast morning, about 11am. After that they hit less and less, then around 1, the wind picked up and we got no more bites.
The weather the 2nd time was similar to first except no clouds, its was 7 days later, and a little colder. Not quite as many bites but steady until wind picked up, about 1130ish. Then no more bites
Our 3rd time, yesterday, we got skunked. Windy as hell from the very beginning. There were hardly any clouds, just plenty of wind (and some silly duckhunters tryin shoot birds 3000ft up) and colder.

We fished the same area each time using midges, black wooly buggers, mosquitos and a few other flys.

I guess my main question is how should we have fished with the wind like it was? yesterday we noticed 0 fish jumpin out of the water though we saw millions of little ones that appeard to be buried at the edge of the water in mud/algae gook. As soon as id walk to the edge a bunch of little ones would dart towards the middle of the river. Nothing would touch anything. We fished all parts of the river; deeper fast moving, shallow fast moving, shallow slow moving near the edge. NOTHING WORKED. help please!

Sorry this is so long, any tips suggestions will be appreciated!

·
Registered
2,488 Posts