Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone have any experience in the Corpus area. Gonna be there for about 5 days visiting friends, so will have some time to wet a line. I've found some links that talk about red fish locations, but was wondering if anyone here might have some first had experience.

Also, any good red fish fly recommendations would be helpful.

Thanks.

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I'll be staying walking distance of Oso Creek. Got any experience with that area? I won't have a boat or Kayak unfortunately. Do I need waders? I was planning to take an 8 wt., sound reasonable? What other gear might I need? Keep in mind, i'm a Colorado native, and my only fly fishing experience has been in Colorado rivers and streams for trout, and Oregon for steelhead. I've never fished anything like this, but this is my one chance to give it a go, and I don't want to pass that up just because i'm a newb to it. Thanks.

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've made a few calls today (since I posted this originally this morning), and if I can convince the wife, I think i'm going to go the guide route. Prices range from about $450-$500 for a day trip for 2 people. Does that sound reasonable to you all? They take you out on the flats for redfish, all gear you need included. I think doing that would be way better then me trying to wade around in parts unknown trying to DIY in a place I know nothing about. I've never used a guide for anything, hunting or fishing, because I think half of the fun is doing it yourself and the learning process you go through. But in this case, I basically will only go fishing one day, so I want to make the most of it.

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #4