Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wanted to post some information on fly fishing Hawaii. I spent about 6 days in Oahu and was able to fish 3-4 mornings and a couple afternoons. Fishing overall was pretty good once I got some time to figure things out.

There is one fly shop on the Island, Nervous Waters, and they were not real helpful. I am sure if I went on a guided trip I would have received a bit more information. But alas, I am a teacher and that was not in the budget. Never the less I was hell bent to find bones. I pretty much searched the entire island for decent flats. Found one below Waikiki and found a couple around the Airforce bases.

The key for me was low tides. Either water moving in or out worked equally well. Much of the water that I fished was relatively deep so the low tides gave me access to tailing fish. Some of the bones were well over 10lbs.... none that I caught.

The set up I used was a 6wt and an 8wt. All floating line with heavy fluoro leader... 20lb. The coral is way nasty and tears up everything. Flies were the basic crazy charlies and their variations of sorts.

Anyway thought I would post a bit of information since I was not able to find much or pry it out of anyone down there.

·
Registered
329 Posts
Dude, that is amazing !! Props for putting in the work and making it happen, anybody can pay a guide to put them on fish, but you earned um!

·
Registered
475 Posts
Rivrunnr1 said:
Rickabilly said:
Dude, that is amazing !! Props for putting in the work and making it happen, anybody can pay a guide to put them on fish, but you earned um!
X4...great info.

I know a guy that fished with a nervious waters guide. They fished some flats just on the other side of Diamond Head. He said the key to the whole thing was the tides.

Hope this helps,
John G.

·
Registered
263 Posts