Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi i have been fishing for a couple years but i am green at fly fishing. Im going to spinney this weekend and wanted some advice on when and what part of the lake to fish. Wouldnt mind some tips on what flies to purchase. I really want to catch some trout because fly fishing looks like a ton of fun!!

·
Registered
11,847 Posts
Look for points and breaks in structure... although many times, at Spinney, the fish just cruise...cover water and take plenty of wooley buggers in olive and brown. Not sure what is hatching now, so you'll have to get that info from others, but buggers never seem to disappoint. use 2 at a time with the trailer bugger being small as you can find... I like vanilla cone head too, but usually fish that solo.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the advice. Ill pick up some wooley buggers today when i get a chance. I also have some adams and parachute adams. Mosquitos and i heard pheasant tails are good but of course its about matching the hatch. Hope i can get some more advice on this place i want to be ready to kill it this weekend!!

·
Registered
17 Posts
Was just up there last week......North East end....near 1st out house...you will see lots of fly fishers..........be sure to use 4x or 3x tippet big fish.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Was just up there last week......North East end....near 1st out house...you will see lots of fly fishers..........be sure to use 4x or 3x tippet big fish.
Yea i have 3x leader tippet on my 6wt rod. Did you catch anything? If you did on what fly?

·
Registered
883 Posts
Grass hopper with a big tasty nymph below. Tons of hoppers up here this year. :thumb:

·
Registered
883 Posts