Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just need some info on a fly rod that im thinking on purchasing. Im new to fly fishing and a friend of mine has a rod for sale. It is a Fenwick Ironfeather 9" 6wt 4 piece he only used it twice looks brand new. Has a nice silk cloth that the pieces slide into and a cool aluminum and brass tube. The tube still as the price tag on it that says 479.00 dollars. A real cool looking set up.  I don't know anything about fly rods any info on this rod will help me out alot. He ask me what I want to give him for it, he is a good friend of mine and I don't want to steel it from him, but i don't want to be ripped off either. And do they have warranties? I heard alot of high end rods have lifetime warranties.

C

·
0 Posts
I fished Fenwick for a while both fly and spin but had problems with breakage. I am not sure on their rod policy now but I imagine it is good. I would call the factory to verify warranty.

They are a very great feeling rods but I changed because of breakage. I still fish several of the ones I have had for spin fishing but my 2 fly rods broke a long time ago.

·
Registered
113 Posts
I have a fenwick HMG that I got as a birthday gift in the late 80's.  Fenwick used to be a top-of-the-line rod.  But many other companies have continued to inovate while Fenwick makes the same 'ol product.  I fished my HMG for a long time before casting my first Sage in the late 90's.  There is no comparison.  I still have my Fenwick and loan it out to friends who have never cast before.  Otherwise, I stick with my newer rods which are easier to cast and much more effective.

FYI - Temple Fork Outfitters makes a nice 9' 6wt 2 piece rod for $89 new with lifetime warranty. I would take the TFO over a Fenwick any day.

TP

B

·
0 Posts