Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Used McCormics Crab boil and Zatarans liquid. Found both at King Soopers. Thought about Old Bay, but thats what I used to put on the blue crabs I would get in Delaware. The crayfish sure turned out good though.

·
Registered
3,547 Posts
Sounds great. There are a range of options, some better than others. Boils can be pretty simple, but I have had a few bad ones.

Bay, mustard seed, paprika, cayenne, white pepper corns, celery seed, filé, garlic powder, cloves, and rock salt is a good boil you can put together at home.

SS

·
Registered
413 Posts
Nice! Did you do that cleaning out process, or is it not necessary? I'm a rookie, but love crawdads.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Nice! Did you do that cleaning out process, or is it not necessary? I'm a rookie, but love crawdads.

No, I did some research on it, and to properly do it, you need a couple days and a kiddy pool to soak them in, or some say you can put salt on them, and rinse them a couple times, but your more likely to kill them doing that. Most of what I found said you dont even need to purge them, and since the water is clean they weren't dirty at all.

·
Registered
740 Posts
I picked up a trap last week and look forward to using it this weekend and having a little boil myself. That's cool you caught those on rod and chicken :)

·
Registered
3,591 Posts
Ok ok I like a good crawfish boil to but you gotta purge em in cornmeal/ water mixture to clean em out c'mon I'm no rocket scientist but thats pretty basic stuff, there mud bugs lol

·
Registered
3,591 Posts
Just throw em in a cooler half or 3/4 full of water , add some cornmeal and a little ice if needed to maintain the temps and watch what the water looks like in a few hours, lol, then feed em to your friends and Asian relatives double lol

·
Registered
3,591 Posts
I have never tried crayfish but damn that looks good!