Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my buddy and I are going on a five day hike into the flat tops this summer. He's big into high mountain lakes and streams. I'm just getting started into the high mountain stuff and need to get a small stream rod. Was thinking a 3 wt. can't break the bank so gotta keep the rod under $300. Any good suggestions?

Thanks!

Tom

·
Registered
485 Posts
Surprisingly, Cabela's Stowaway rods are great little rods for backpacking. They have them in 5 and 7 piece rods in a wide range of weights. I have a 3 weight five piece and love it as it casts quite well. Price was or perhaps still is just around $100.

·
Registered
592 Posts
Redington Butter Stick

·
Registered
13 Posts
Sold on a 3 wt. ? I like my 4 piece 4wt, 9 footer TFO, TiCr serries for everything up there. Good reach over willows/dabbing, delicate for all dries, but firm when it gets gusty. I'll also use an over-sized line/weight fordward extra spool which is less bulky to carry, if I need to "power thru". However, been leav'n my 4wt. at home more and more and going with my exact same 6wt. instead.

Seems there is always bigger fish further out then you think.

greatdividefishing.com

·
Registered
8 Posts
You're getting a bunch of suggestions, but maybe you need to be a little clearer about what you like (and expect) from this rod. On high mountain streams and lakes, you need to worry about wind. Brush will be an issue in some areas, but not others (many streams will be running through meadows and alpine areas). Still, you probably don't want to go 9' because if you do run into a brushy stream, it won't work at all; a 7' rod is great for brushy areas but probably handicaps you more than you'd want everywhere else. Hence 8' or 8.5'.