Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,656 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got on ice about 7:30am. It wasn't that cold but it was a little windy. I think I figured out where the residential boat ramp is. It's where the road winds through the houses down to the ramp, right? I took the advice and didn't drive to the lake and I would second that advice. I am not very good with distance so I paced my way out about what I thought was 150 yards. Drilled my first hole and droped down a jig just to see how deep it was and my line never stopped falling. So I figured to deep. So I went back a ways and drilled some holes. I don't know how deep it was but I would say it was deeper than we fished at Granby. No action for the first hour and I was about to move and then the lakers moved in. After trial and error I came up with what I think is THE method for catching G.M. lakers. I was fishing two poles and this provided constant action on both. Drop one to the bottom. Let it sit on the bottom for a couple seconds. Drop the other. Lift it slowly off the bottom. I got many that took it on the bottom. If no fish on then jig a little and let it sit. If no fish with in a minute start slowly jigging and reeling it up. I've read about these suspended lakers having violent strikes, boy is that true. If you get it to the hole with no fish drop it down, turn to the other rod and repeat. I had constant action for about three hours.

I was using 2-3" jigs in glow or white with the red skirt. All tipped with sucker. I tried some of that berkly dip in roe and was not impressed. I seemed to only get hits when it had washed off. I would say 70% of the lakers ate the jig on the bottom, 20% hit it on the way up, and only 10% hit it the usuall jiggin way. I iced about 15 and lost probably twice that and got tons of bites. All were 15-20 inches. No one else on the lake at all. Thanks to every one who gave me some info. It really helped. Green Mountain is a great place.