Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 143 Posts

·
Registered
6,542 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last spring I caught the fish of a lifetime. A fish I had been chasing for 15 years!!!!! I knew it was special and I released it immediately anyway, because that was the right thing to do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

After measuring three times and viewing the photos I knew she was close to a state record. So I took consolation that at least I could apply for the catch and release record with the CPW:) She beat the old record by a half inch 34" to 33 1/2". So the new CPW Master Angler Awards came out this week. To my complete shock they have a 35 1/2" fish from Lake Loveland listed:eek: I think oh my god that has to be a world record or real close??? Then I think wow that sucks for me!!!

Just found a picture of it. I am in no way saying anything bad about this kid!!!!! God for him! Nice fish!!! But give me a break::) I have caught a dozen over 30" and this one isn't close to 32" much less 35 1/2":mad:

Which one is bigger? I have no idea whether he applied for the record or not? But if he did and the CPW accepts it someone is really bad at their job!!!

Attachments

·
Registered
5,192 Posts
Fly rod adds 6"
Duh
Much harder the catch them on the fly

·
Registered
2,235 Posts
That sucks Neal.... Not sure if they still post pictures of fish submitted like they used to but that's what lost my interest in the whole program. A whole gallery of guys claiming fish to be sizes they weren't. Don't get me wrong there were plenty of legit fish too, but seeing so many bull **** claims ruined it for me.

Hopefully they realize what a state record means and do some actual research on this one. The kid caught a great fish but 35.5.....Not even close. Which makes me thankful there wasn't digital cameras or the internet around when I was a kid. No one can prove my fish stories are bull **** I left no proof otherwise.

·
Registered
3,266 Posts