Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just signed up on the forum...so newbie to you but long time fly fisher in your great state.
So here is the question for the native tribe......I got to get another round of float tube fly fishing in this fall. However I have no experience with the very high altitude lakes in October up high.
I got a bull tag to hunt then and planning to fit in several days with the fly rod and kick boat after the hunt.

I got my spots to go to, but I am not sure if I will have any chance with dries or I would need to rig up a sinking line rig.
What do you guys recommend for 10,000 ft and higher fishing that time of year?. Or should I back down and fish lower elsewhere?

thanks for your opinions.

·
Registered
624 Posts
Not going to see much dry hatches in October that late in the year. This video was in October and I was fishing 18 degree mornings:

That was at 9k feet. Sinking sub surf flies for sure that time of the year, on that note you should slay it when it comes to fishing in Oct. I will say I am usually ice fishing by mid to 3rd week of Oct in high alpine lakes. Hope my answer helps.

This is a lake at 10,500ft in Oct.

·
Registered
366 Posts
just signed up on the forum...so newbie to you but long time fly fisher in your great state.
So here is the question for the native tribe......I got to get another round of float tube fly fishing in this fall. However I have no experience with the very high altitude lakes in October up high.
I got a bull tag to hunt then and planning to fit in several days with the fly rod and kick boat after the hunt.

I got my spots to go to, but I am not sure if I will have any chance with dries or I would need to rig up a sinking line rig.
What do you guys recommend for 10,000 ft and higher fishing that time of year?. Or should I back down and fish lower elsewhere?

thanks for your opinions.