Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

With all the shad in Chatfield this fall how do you think that will affect Walleye Size in 2006?

• No Change, lots of 17.9 inchers with occasional keepers.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Marginally more keepers.

• Significantly more keepers.

• Almost all keepers.

• No real difference in size but lots of really fat fish.

• Don't care.

• Don't know.

• There are Walleye in Chatfield?

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
24,883 Posts
chef...

If so I would hope to find some trophy fish if they are that well fed.
...supposedly they took fish larger than the 18 pound state record during spawn taking last year...hey Looney...didnt you help out...what was the biggest monster you saw at Chatfield...I think there are ones pushing 20 in Cherry Creek...and I know the largest out of Aurora I think to date is 14 and change...

· Registered
24,883 Posts
sook

i think it'll be about the same size. even smaller. i've been fishing at the dam spillway for last 5 years in a row about once a week every season (early to mid spring when they drain excess water from the reservoir) and been through hundreds of walleyes. i haven't seen any growth in size and the fish are very bony.... i think people who say walleyes are going to be bigger this year don't know what they're talking about. i'm a regular at the spillway. i gotta say fish were bigger 5 years ago than last year. i don't think they are adapting too well at chatfield.