Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,656 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my girlfriend did very well this summer when I taught her to fly fish. So I think it is time to introduce her to the ice. I am not a pro by any means. I have only ice fished for two years now. I know keeping her warm is the first priority to her having fun her first time. If any of you have experience in this and can lend me your wisdom I would be forever in your debt. If she likes it that means I can go more.

·
Registered
935 Posts
I taught my wife both this year.

My rule of thumb:  Dress for temps 30 degrees lower than forecast, because when you're sitting still you can get colder than you think, faster than you think.  Windproof stuff is the best.  Most body heat is lost through head/neck, so wear an insulated hood and/or scarf and hat with ear protection.  Warm feet also important- try out some of the footwarmer insoles. 

Give her your best rig, to insure she gets bites, and then don't lose patience if she fails to set the hook the first few times (a common thing for people new to ice fishing).

D

·
0 Posts
Hatchmaster-

The two things you need to remember are to keep her warm and take her someplace where she'll get a lot of action. Tarryall might not be a bad place to start. I know people were catching lots of stockers before it froze.

·
Registered
935 Posts
Oh, and fish in the Northwest corner on Dowdy - lots of stocker action there at early ice from a heavy fall stocking.

·
Registered
3,666 Posts