Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,820 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a well experienced spin fisherman - but I am very new to flyfishing, I know the basics and took a workshop to learn the ropes...

I picked up a few Wooley Buggers and some leaders/tippets, and was considering practicing at a few local ponds where I constantly see Carp surfacing - think this would be a good way to practice?

·
Registered
294 Posts
Carp are not the easiest to catch, especially if you are new to fly fishing. I think it can be more challenging than fishing for trout at times. But don't let that keep you away from trying. You want them to be feeding, with their tails up. If they are cruising, they more than likely will not aggressively take your fly. There are more and more people who are carp fishing these days and since they can usually be found in town or in most bodies of water, they are a low cost option. Make sure you have enough stick to land them though. You might need to upgrade if you have a 4-5 wt rod. depending on their size. I usually use an 8wt rod.

Juan

·
Registered
1,820 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Juan Ramirez said:
Carp are not the easiest to catch, especially if you are new to fly fishing. I think it can be more challenging than fishing for trout at times. But don't let that keep you away from trying. You want them to be feeding, with their tails up. If they are cruising, they more than likely will not aggressively take your fly. There are more and more people who are carp fishing these days and since they can usually be found in town or in most bodies of water, they are a low cost option. Make sure you have enough stick to land them though. You might need to upgrade if you have a 4-5 wt rod. depending on their size. I usually use an 8wt rod.

Juan
Thanks for your input - I don't know anything about flyfishing for carp, I just figured they be easy practice, but doesn't sound like it ???

I have a 9.5ft 6 weight rod