Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
841 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
May be fordo can confirm this. I caught this one at Dillon yesterday in 20 FOW. I thought that Char stays in deep water and since this is my first time catching this fish, I can't tell. By the way, it was released after this picture.

·
Registered
24,568 Posts
Sure looks sounds like it...great job!...lol wonder if they taste better than lakers...or the same...I think I read somewhere about them that their dorsal fin is always one solid color no spots...

An identifying feature of arctic char is colored, usually violet or pink, round spots distributed along the sides of their bodies.

http://www.dto.com/fwfishing/speciesProfile/292

·
Registered
1,674 Posts
Thumbs up Buddy! You will always find a few shallow at the snake in pursuit of eggs.

Out on the main lake, keep in mind that under the ice the mysis shrimp will migrate in pretty shallow and the char will be where the mysis are. For the most part though you want to target them below the thermocline, which under the ice is at 35 to 40 feet. You will mark them on the sonar just about every where you look between 80 and 120, but we have found most those fish that deep are really small, and fishing for a sub 10" fish with a really small mouth below 80 feet is nonsense. So focus on 40' to 60' and you will get some char. If you you punch a hole and are not marking fish, just wait, they will come through they are everywhere in the lake!

·
Registered
185 Posts
For the most part though you want to target them below the thermocline, which under the ice is at 35 to 40 feet.

There is no thermocline under the ice. Lakes only stratify in the summer when there is a temperature gradient in the water column. Under the ice the temperate of the entire water column is pretty close to same everywhere ~4C.

·
Registered
1,674 Posts
T