Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone; this will be my first post!

I am brand new to fly fishing but I have been interested for a while.

Anyhow, I bought a used fly fishing outfit at an estate sale the other day on a whim. It's an older Orvis Graphite 8' 6-wt 2-PC rod with an Orvis 1915ER reel. As far as I can tell, everything is in excellent condition (no chips, broken ferrules, etc). It also came along with a Fishpond pack stuffed with tons of flys, leader, tools, etc. I paid $120 for everything which feels like a pretty great deal considering the Fishpond pack sells for $80 itself.

My question is whether this is a reasonable setup to learn on, or if anyone thinks I may be better off with something different.

Appreciate all your advice!

Attachments

·
Registered
4,797 Posts
I would have recommended a 9' 5wt rod, but what you bought will be ok.

The reel looks like a Medalist reel made for Orvis. It will work ok.

I suggest you take some casting lessons to get you started with proper form.

Where do you plan to fly fish?

·
Registered
535 Posts
I agree that a 9' 5wt is your typical started rod. I have ended up liking my lighter 3 wt's a lot too, but you gotta start somewhere. For the price, especially with all the fixings, it sounds like a perfect starter outfit.

Go catch some fish with it, have a great time, learn what you like and don't like about the set up and go from there.

·
Registered
4,710 Posts
Orvis makes a quality rod, 6wt is fine. Your value is in the rod and the pack. The flies may or may not be useful, flyline doesn't wear out too fast so that will be good also.

Used to be the 6wt was the all-rounder rod, but now it's migrated to 5 and 4 wt, but really the trout don't know the difference.