Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know the list is probably endless and also depends on what is hatching at the time, etc., BUT if you are from out of the area and coming in, what patterns and sizes would you pick if limited to 3 dries and 3 nymphs? 8)

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Money, I tie flies but as I understand it the S. Platte requires small flies that I am not that good at tying so I'll buy some. Figure a couple in each size, maybe two colors, 6 patterns, I can go a bit farther on the budget but I figured I'd get some variation in suggestions, plus the cheap $.80 stuff doesn't always float that well so I want to buy from a good shop.
I tie a fairly good fly, some I've tested against store ties and mine have held up better, it is the smaller sizes that give me trouble.

·
Registered
196 Posts
Personally in July I go with some bigger flies; some smaller stuff too but as the summer moves on you can go bigger. I would have Tricos #20-#24 if they make an early appearance and some thread midges in the same sizes. But for standard flies I like a #12-#16 rubber legged stimi. If the flows are above 150 CFS a rusty slumpbuster is a killer in #6-#12. I also throw damsel/ dragon flies at the upper end of the river in #10-#16.

Have a Good 'Urn,
bones

·
Registered
225 Posts
personally, in July, I wouldnt fish the Dream. The big fish wont be in there and there are so so so many better places than the dream that time of year - IMO.

But, you can expect size 18 black caddis in the evenings. Size 18/ 20 PMD's. Grasshoppers.

Nymphs. Red copper john in an 18. Black beauties. And a cone head bugger.

That is 5 patterns. but should be doable.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #6