Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked up an 8 wt not too long ago due to a great price. Living in Colorado, I've been told I'm a bit limited on where to go, and then, on the other hand, I've heard of a few people who mainly rely on their 8 wt. out here for trophy trout. I'm a bit of a novice, so any tips of where to use this huge rod and when would be appreciated.:smile:

·
Registered
11,847 Posts
Using an 8wt for streamer fishing is great.. not just because you can cast a mile, but you can control the streamer better with a stiffer rod. That said, I am not a fan at all for nymph fishing. Right now, any tailwater can be great with streamers, although you will have to find deep pools and work them slow...

·
Registered
16,617 Posts
8wt is a freekin pool cue-

Ive caught 6lb bows from the north platte on my 3 wt. I have a 5wt that I never use cause its too heavy-

·
Registered
484 Posts
The only reason I would use (and have used) my 8 wt is if I am trying for pike or perhaps somewhere I knew I would be trying to horse largemouth bass out of a lily pad. Otherwise a 5 wt is probably the rod I use 90% of the time. My 3 wt is fun on the smaller creeks and rivers. Probably be just fine on most of the lakes I fish as well. Just happen to like my 5 wt rod the best. Not that it matters but I bought my 8 wt when I lived up in Oregon and fished the Deschutes a lot for steelhead. Not many steelhead in Colorado but some of the pike could certainly but a bend in an 8 wt.

Just my two cents worth.

·
Registered
4,702 Posts
8 weight would be good on lakes throwing streamers into the wind. On the heavy side for tailwaters and small creeks.

Keep it for windy lake fishing and get a 4-5 weight for the other stuff.

·
Registered
6,273 Posts