Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

Which would you rather fish?

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, im a newbie fly fisherman and was wondering what the differences between river fishing and lake fishing were?

·
Premium Member
10,399 Posts
It depends what want to fish for. Trout I would rather fish in a stream or river. Pan fish and bass are goin have to come from the lake. Hitting Smallmouths on a river on a fly is great as well.

·
Registered
2,678 Posts
There are so many differences it would be hard to list. 

fish hold in different areas and have different feeding patterns in lakes than in rivers...tactics, gear, and techniques are also going to vary quite a bit.

flyfishing in lakes takes a different approach than in rivers...i personally enjoy flyfishing in lakes for both trout and warmwater species.

·
Premium Member
10,399 Posts
The only reason I like rivers and lakes better is with the current the fight is usually better, makes the fish seem bigger. :p

·
Registered
1,601 Posts
Rivers are definitely more predictable as far as where the fish are located and the fish are easier to get to. Reservoirs or lakes all look the same from the surface, but can be difficult to locate fish, structure, etc. Then getting to them with the proper presentation is a whole nother game. I can go to basically any river and catch fish on any given day, but could not say the same for reservoirs. I do know that there are much bigger fish in Lakes and Reservoirs than you will ever catch in a river (maybe aside from the tail waters). As you probably know a great time to fly fish any lake or reservoir is right at ice off and usually is your best chance at a trophy with a fly rod.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Ben said:
What are the differences?