Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking to switch one of my jigging rigs over to braided line and have never used any before, what do you use and are there any good or bad points that you have experienced?

·
Registered
9,427 Posts
i use power pro it is a round line and cast fine and you can use your mono knots. to add a fluro leader use back to back uni knots and put at least 15 yds of mono backing on your reel, best of all it is made in colo. for a jigging rod i would go with 30 lb min and heavier if you want 65 lb is only about 12 lb dia.

·
Registered
293 Posts
I got some SpiderWire a few weeks back... It's white. Invisi-Braid I think it's called.. Not bad line. Although I do love PowerPro. Good solid line. I got the spiderwire because it was on sale. I would probably go with PowerPro next time. Fish dont seem to mind the moss green like they do the white.

·
Registered
4,467 Posts
Im a Power Pro guy, but I have freinds in the field who swear by Suffix Braid...and they have used both brands. Support the home team and go with PP

·
Registered
4,307 Posts
I use Power Pro on my baitcasters.....................and thanks to a pm from an un-named member............I've gone to spider wire Stealth on my spinning rods. I am shocked by the performance I'm getting from it on a spin reel...................great stuff. I was afraid the P-Pro would be too "limp" for my spin reel and I'd getting wind knots easier.

·
Registered
120 Posts
While I was quite skeptical at first, I would go with Berkley's new tracer Braid 4/15. I fished it with Jerk baits the last couple weeks and have to say I am very impressed! I really like the visibility and stealth. gives you a very good point reference to where your bait is at all times...

·
Registered
67 Posts