Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there! I am an avid backpacker who loves to fly fish. I will be visiting Colorado for the first time this summer to fish the frying pan with a guide and would love to do some day hikes to high alpine lakes while I am there. I am specifically looking to fish for cutthroats in these lakes and am having a very hard time finding any info on good lakes to hike to. I understand most people keep their spots on the down low : ) I am very responsible, leave no trace, catch and release, barbless hooks and would love a point in the right direction as to where to look for these hidden gems. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I am staying in that area but plan to spend at least a week in Colorado. Driving from California : ) thanks for the replies so far

·
Registered
4,039 Posts
I have no first hand experience with lakes out that way. However, if I had a guide lined up like you do, I'd drill that mofo about high lake recommendations for that area over email. I'm sure he or she will be happy to give you some advice and sell you appropriate flies to use as well when you get here (a really good idea).

Secondly, you can always search around that area you are staying on google maps, find lakes that have names, and google them. It's pretty common to find hiking blogs and photos of said named lakes. Sometimes they mention fish, sometimes they don't.

I would recommend concentrating on day tripping to high lakes to keep things simple and efficient. Not sure what altitude you're coming from, but sleeping at elevation sucks even for seasoned vets. Not to mention, level ground that isn't covered in rocks tends to be in short supply.

·
Registered
35 Posts