Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have a 2 hp 10" Strikemaster Lazer. Starts & runs great, but it drills the funkiest holes known to mankind. It has done it since I've owned the auger. The holes it drills are sloppy, like there's a bend in the shaft or something. They are never straight and the edges are never clean. I've ran it under no load and verified there's no visible wobble in the rotation of the shaft so I don't think the shaft is bent. The auger blades are very sharp, so it's not due to dull blades.

Anybody know what can cause this auger to cut such poor holes? Any ideas? I bought a new set of blades, but I just can't believe that's the problem.

Any advice is appreciated.

Best regards,
Dogwood

·
Registered
4,731 Posts
If your vertically challenged as I am, (I'm 5'6"), then Golden Rod might be onto something. Manage your torque. I have the same unit and yeah, on occasion, depending how thick the ice is, I'm not clean on the sweep either.

·
Registered
34 Posts
The problem is not necessarily the condition of the blades, but the the angle of attack of one blade in relationship to the other. Thus the "walk the dog action" of the cutting. Back in the day, Mora hand augers came with a shim pack to adjust the pitch of the blade. This pitch angle is also why it is so hard to sharpen these products at home, change the angle a minor bit.....no can cutty......Problem is, the sweet spot is as elusive a Trophy Laker. Good Luck...

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
Zach da MackAttack said:
I bhave thwe same auger...try to change the blades..and make sure there on right
Possibly Mack has something here on the blades. not sure...however our eskimo, stingray with new blades , no force needed to drill a hole, just hold on and it guides itself straight down, unbelieveable how fast and with no effort it drills holes.

·
Registered
36 Posts