Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a school teacher, and I have the whole summer off. I plan on fishing my life away all summer. I want to hook into some 22+, and I'm so new to fly fishing, that I need some advice where I will have the best chance of hooking up with a nice fish in a stream or river. Please give me some advice on where to go and what to use....I'm willing to drive anywhere.

Thanks

B

·
0 Posts
School teacher eh? To be a fly fisher and have the summer off, man it doesn't get any better than that. 8)
Here are my thoughts on your question, not in any particular order.

San Juan River
The Dream Stream
The Frying Pan
The Green below Flaming Gorge
The North Platte @ Grey Reef
Parts of Yellowstone
The Big Horn

There are plenty of options, these are just a few.
Good Luck in your quest.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Great list salmo!
I have fished 5 of those waters and you can't go wrong on any of them. The San Juan is my least favorite. The fish are just overrun with pressure and are so use to being caught they don't fight much. I prefer the northern direction. Grey reef -- the gorge -- yellowstone.

Tight lines

·
Registered
273 Posts
Thats a great list. The Gunnison East Portal will be very hot from now through Memorial Day and you can catch many, many 20"+ fish. The Taylor River has some downright hogs measured in feet, not inches. Fish at dawn with yellow egg patterns before the crowds send the big guys sulking. Dress warm there in the wee hours even in summer. Doing both rivers next weekend myself.

But for the summer, if you are really willing to drive anywhere - head to Alaska. If you haven't been there shoot me a PM and I can give you all sorts of tips - but be forewarned, it will ruin you!

Pass through Yellowstone on the way back when all the rivers

·
Registered
24,568 Posts
Since you have lots of time...