Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
514 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am a self taught fisherman and would love to learn a bit more about walleyes. i have done a pretty good job of figuring out trout and bass but am struggling with walleye. i know colorado doesnt have the best walleye fishing out there but i have managed to catch a few so i know it can be done. i would like to know more about what i am doing though. i live in northern colorado and have a nice fishing boat. if there is anyone out there who wants to do a good deed and teach a fella to fish then let me know. i fish horsetooth and carter lakes a lot and hear the walleye fishing can be good there at times.

·
Registered
410 Posts
Both Carter and Horsetooth hold great Walleye population. Don't be surprised to pull in a 30" or 10 pounder some time. Check out the North chapter of the Colorado Walleye assoc at www.cwaonline.net they meet at Bennets tackle in Loveland.

I have heard that most guys are pitching jigs with minnows of a curly tail on it in rocky areas and shallow areas. If fishing at night go to the same areas and fish with a Husky Jerk or x-rap in mostly natural colors. Work it with a stop and go motion and don't be afraid to let it sit 10-20 seconds.

Goodluck and Welcome to Colorado Fisherman

JT

·
Registered
198 Posts
colorado does have good-excellent walleye fishing. it's 80% of my fishing! this time of year it can be boon or bust. the key is persistence and deliberate presentations in 10 feet and shallower flats. like campingkids said, check out the CWA northern chapter.

L

·
0 Posts
Get the "In-Fisherman, Critical Concepts-Walleye #3" book. There are 5 books in the walleye series and the 3rd book is rigging techniques. The entire series is excellent but #3 is perhaps the best in my opinion. Alot of In-Fisherman stuff is better suited for Canada and the north (Minnesota, Michigan, etc...) but they still have usable info for any waters walleyes swim in.