Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new to fly fishing, actually as in today was my first lesson. I definitely have a new perspective of fishing and wouldn't mind getting into fly fishing a little more since Colorado is a good place for it. Anways, what I was gonna ask is what would be a good starting rod and reel and line and such for a beginner? I've seen some combo rod and reels for around $50 to $60 that come with line, backing, and leaders but didn't know if those are something to avoid. I also want to add that I don't want to be spending A LOT of money since I can't really afford good stuff. Under $100 is what I would like to do. What is a good flyline weight to start out with? Are those quick connect flyline to leader things a good idea to get or are they more of a pain to deal with? Thanks guys, just any beginner tips or advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
3,144 Posts

·
Registered
6,797 Posts
i think id go a step or 2 up from those 50-60 dollar combos just a decent fly line will run you 30 bucks or so i started out with some cheap stuff cause that was all i could afford and it took more effort to cast and the cheep lines never floated very well i went the cheep route for many years until i inherited a decent rod a while back nothing real pricey but a 100 dollar plus rod and i put a 30 dollar line on a cheep reel and i cant believe how much easyer it is to fish with

id get the cheepest reel i could find even wally world or used at a swapmeet and then get a cheeper line from a fly shop or order it over the net and then buy the best rod you can afford with what is left but i wouldnt go more than about $100 bucks for the rod alone

you can certainly fish and have fun with cheeper stuff but i think in the long run you will end up fishing with it more if you get into the 100+ bracket for the full combo you can scrip on the reel but get a decent rod and line