Colorado Fisherman Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to fly fishing, actually as in today was my first lesson. I definitely have a new perspective of fishing and wouldn't mind getting into fly fishing a little more since Colorado is a good place for it. Anways, what I was gonna ask is what would be a good starting rod and reel and line and such for a beginner? I've seen some combo rod and reels for around $50 to $60 that come with line, backing, and leaders but didn't know if those are something to avoid. I also want to add that I don't want to be spending A LOT of money since I can't really afford good stuff. Under $100 is what I would like to do. What is a good flyline weight to start out with? Are those quick connect flyline to leader things a good idea to get or are they more of a pain to deal with? Thanks guys, just any beginner tips or advice would be appreciated.

· Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Yah, the rigs I was looking at were the scientific anglers from wallyworld. When I was having my lesson yesterday, I borrowed my roommates rod and reel that he got as a pass on from a friend and the teacher told me that the rod was really flexible and was considered more of a finesse rod and thought it would be harder to learn on. After trying the rod he had brought which was stiffer, it did seem easier to cast. Would less expensive rods be towards the stiff end or the flexible end? Is there site that anyone knows of that shows all of the different types of fly knots? As in the ones to connect your leader and your fly line or what to use on your fly? And I'm a real newbie when it comes to fly fishing, but what is a tippet?

· Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·