Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to ice fishing. Can anyone tell me if there is a lake the
rents ice shacks, ice augers and is 2 - 2 1/2 hrs from Denver?
Prefer trout, laker fishing.
Thanks

·
Registered
38 Posts
I don't know of any places that rent the equipment you are asking about but suggest that you keep a watch on the site for guys who are making a trip and would be happy to let you share the ride. Should be offers as soon as we start to see safe ice. As far as where to go, I suggest you purchase a copy of a set of maps called, "Colorado and Wyoming Lake Maps". They have a web site, www.fishmap.com. Good luck and look forward to hearing how you do.

·
Registered
1,734 Posts
Buy a good hand auger (strikemaster lazer for example) for 79.99 or a cheap hand auger for $39.99. Don't buy a used one unless you replace the blades or have them sharpened.
Even if you have to drill through 12-20 inches of solid ice, it isn't that bad to pop a couple holes with a hand auger.

Shelter--don't need one--wear many layers, hat, gloves, etc. and just fish outside. Also, check the weather, don't go when it's going to be a blizzard. ;) Then get some kind of a chair or bucket to sit on, and sit back to the wind :) Wool socks and good boots are the key really.

If you really need a shelter, just buy a used one. You can find one used for less than $100. My first season, I spent $100 on a hand auger and shelter. Still have both--they sit in the garage next to my $450 auger and $250 shelter :)

If you must insist on renting, I will rent my old shelter and hand auger to you for $300 for the season ;D ;D ;D

·
Registered
2,182 Posts
Fished for a decade with a 5 gallon bucket and a hand auger...in fact, sometimes i think i enjoyed ice-fihing more then...dress warm in layers and you will catch more fish than you can know!

·
Registered
24,499 Posts