Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally got myself a boat but i have no experience trolling, from the rigs to use, what type of lures to how to troll
I have mostly fly-fished and bait-cast fishing from shore before but that is about it
Any tips are appreciated

·
Registered
217 Posts
Depends what you are fishing for, I guess. I enjoy trolling for walleye. My go to is a bottom bouncer sinker rig with a double hook crawler harness (I use this 90% of the time I troll). Sometimes I use a single hook harness and a leech. Both are effective. I read someplace that you should use an once of sinker for every 10ft of depth. I do approximately that, but oftentimes find a 1 oz. to work at 10-15 ft and a 1.5 oz to be effective anywhere from 15-25 ft. Most of the places I troll I am not going deeper than that. They make the sinkers in colors now, too. I have tried orange and chartruess, but find the plain old natural lead color to work just fine too (and they are cheaper).

I ocassionally use lures, Rappala's and the like. I bow to other guys to give you advice on lure trolling. I look forward to what orhers have to say since I could use some advice on that area myself.

I also use a fairly stout rod. When you are trolling, the fish usually nail it, so it's not like you need a sensitive feel. When I am steering the boat while trolling, this type of rod seems easier to handle in general.

And one more thing--you don't have to go very fast. It amazes me how fast some people troll. I always wonder if they are picking up many fish.

Good luck!

·
Registered
1,139 Posts