Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to fly fishing and just landed my first fish this week on a trip to the Arkansas. All I can say is that about a second after he rose to my fly we were both "hooked". It's now may 10th and I've can't get back on the water until the 18th but I'm already itching to go. I'm hoping someone could give a few suggestions on where to fish next week. Being a beginer I'm looking for water with lots of fish over water with fewer but bigger fish, also good casting lanes are nice, I have chest waders, if the destination should call for them, any imput will be really helpful.

M

·
0 Posts
Welcome to the forum! The Arkansas should have a caddis hatch going until the snowmelt runoff kills it - opportune time to fish dries. Same with the Colorado. After the caddis hatch, the salmon flies will be hatching on the Colorado. In between - big nymph fishing.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, I'm thinking of heading back to the Arkansas, and will be monitoring the runoff to see if I get there in time. I am having some trouble with casting nymph setups. I tangle them quickly and usually to such a degree that I must replace the leader. I plan to spend some time working on this, because otherwise my casting is adequate (I can work 20yrds of line or so without problems). I must confess to being a little turned off by nymphing both because of my tangling the setup and the lack of visual. Most likely I just need a good teacher.

·
Registered
797 Posts
I think if youwait just a little longer on your back cast it willhelp solve your problem with your leader getting tangled

·
Registered
280 Posts
If you want to catch fish (especially big ones ) you will have to nymph. Rollcast is the easiest way to cast that nymph setup. Ive been flyfishing for a few years now and I still constantly get tangled up dont let it frustrate you.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #7