Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 94 Posts

·
Registered
3,945 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I made a pike trip with a friend yesterday. We both threw hard baits, mostly jerkbaits, but I also threw a hard swimbait at times. We caught fish, but nothing over 21". Toward the end of the day, I met a fly fisherman. He asked me if I caught anything. A few, I repied. All dinks. He said that he only catches big pike. I called him out on that and said: I'm sure you catch little ones too in between the big ones, unless you are somehow throwing lures that are so big small ones can't bite it. He showed me his fly. It looked like a 4" streamer. By that time, I had finished my retrieve. He saw the Lucky Craft Pointer 128 I had on the end of my line and said that he doesn't "use lures like that; big pike don't eat them because they look too much like them." Perplexing statement... I am no expert on big pike, but I am pretty sure pike eat pike and other fish... And I couldn't figure out what else "them" would reference. I thought about calling him out, but I just said "Oh" in a sarcastic manner. Anyhow, what is your take on flies vs hard Baits vs some other lures?

·
Registered
285 Posts
I have caught big pike on small spoons and kasty's and have often thought wow, smaller is better. To me, it seems like this might be the case when pike are solo.

However, me and my crew have definitely caught some big pike on F-18's as well. Many time this has happened when pike are attacking bait fish together.

For me, one of the coolest things to watch in the Colorado outdoors is big pike bust'n on kokes in the fall. If your ever lucky enough to come upon it (or if pike are corralling up on some bows) you can't go too big IMO. Nothing like seeing several 18'' salmon go flying out of the water with blood red teeth marks on them.

·
Registered
2,825 Posts