Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I want to share some information with all of you about a new style pontoon boat I discovered, two summers ago.

I've been using float tubes of one sort or another for almost 40 years. One of the lessons I learned is that when buying one requiring inflatable vinyl bladders is to buy at least one extra bladder for each style in the tube before the company goes out of business.

The way I learned this lesson is, several years ago, I purchased a Water Skeeter pontoon system. The Skeeter has two large inflatable pontoons with another one piece inflatable "U" shaped bladder which attaches to the top of the pontoons. A few years ago, the upper bladder sprung a leak so I repaired it. A year or two later the repair began to leak; however, this time, I was not able to repair it. I called the company to purchase another only to learn the company is out of business - so now what?

The summer before last, I was in my local Cabela's store. The first place I visit in the store is the Bargain Cave. On this particular visit, I spotted a pontoon boat, like the one you see in the attached photo #243. I chatted with a clerk then checked the price tag. The original price was $499; it was marked down to $399. I told the clerk I was very interested but wondered if they could do better on the price. Until this incident, I was not aware Cabela's would dicker. The clerk asked me to wait a minute. He took the price tag to a store room then returned with a price of $199. Immediately, I purchased the boat. Later, I did some research on the net and found prices from $500 to $600.

This boat solved my inflatable bladder problem. Let me tell you a little about the boat. Photo #243 shows the components.