Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
2,180 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What are some down sides to your pontoon? dislikes?

Do you have a standing platform? Do you wish you had one?
If you have one do you use it? or is it more of a gimmick and extra weight?

Do you use the toon the way you intended when you bought it? Pack it in to "x" spots? Do you float moving water in it? Or it a still water pontoon?

Would you have liked to have gotten something bigger to carry an extra person?

Do you ride too high for your liking or do you ride too low?

What would you do or buy different if you were to buy another one?

I want a toon! Just not sure if what I get will be what I need. There are a ton of toons out there with pros and cons to each but trying to narrow it down, I am finding it to be a challenge since I have no experience in one to know what I want or need.

Any other input would be appreciated as well.

Thanks in advance for your pros and cons of your toon and toon experience(s).

·
Registered
11,847 Posts
I had a toon and hated it because I bought the wrong one.. 9' was long, clumsy and I rode so high, my flippers were out of the water and rowing was painful while fishing. If I had to do it again, I would have a trolling motor, smaller rig and definitely a standing platform. I passed on one with a platform and never forgave myself. I used a buddy's that was 7' I believe, and it was much better, lighter and easier to move in the water. My fins sat slightly lower which helped a lot too. If I had it to do over, I would get a hard side toon with the shortest possible toons.

·
Registered
2,180 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
From what i have seen...the ones that have a standing platform are 10' or larger. If you know of one shorter plz give up the details, company name and so forth.