Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I'm kinda happy and kinda mad about today. I got up at 7 this morning to get to the river by about 8. Fished until 10:15 and left so I could go to classes, then left my place again at about 4 to head over again to fish then left at 6:30. Out of a total of 4 and half to 5 hours I got ONE, lol. I was happy to get it but there were fish rising all over the place but I couldn't get them to hit anything I through at them. The fish as so skittish it seems like you walk within 20 feet of them and zoom, gone to another part of the river. I dunno if its just the flies I was using or I wasn't presenting them right since I'm new to fly fishing but either way I could not get them to hit. The one that I got was a 14" Rainbow which isn't bad, but I guess I thought I could get a few more then just that. The funny part too was I got him on my spinning reel using nothing but a fly since I couldn't cast more then about 8 feet because of all the trees and bushes around me. Here's a pic of the big guy.

Let me know if any of you have fished the poudre here in town lately and have had any luck. I would have to guess the fishing in the river will just be getting better as the fall goes on but I've never fished rivers too much before.

·
Registered
578 Posts
Were you over by Martinez Park? I went there today on my lunch break. I got several quick hits but no catches. All that I caught there today was a sucker fish on a crawler. The trout were hitting on my rainbow trout pattern Blade Dancer and my green, orange and yellow with black spots Kastmaster but the hits were very quick and I couldn't get a hookset. Haven't had any luck flyfishing so I don't even bring my fly rod anymore. I'm still new to flyfishing and I have hit the frustrating part with it. (Unless I'm playing with bluegills, but they hit just about anything!)

I

·
0 Posts
nice fish.