Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the best make/model/ size for ice fishing in Colorado? I have a hand auger now and I am getting sick of drilling through 2ft of ice.

·
Registered
280 Posts
I had the same problem, I went with a 2hp Jiffy Stealth 8" works like a champ and is very reliable. I though about buying a 3hp 10" but weight becomes a big issue when hauling around trying to find locate fish and the 10 inch hole can be dangerous although there fun to fish out of.

·
Registered
6,797 Posts
even a 6" hole can be dangerous if i got a power jober id go for the 10"

·
Registered
16,571 Posts
I have a 8" strikemaster and a 10" jiffy. I use the 8" 90% of the time 'cause its SO easy to haul around.Light weight I hike a little with it just carry it over my shoulder,No way can do that with the 10".It uses less gas,actually cuts holes faster,and the blades are much cheaper.

·
Registered
1,204 Posts
I also have an 8" Lazer Strikemaster and it whups up on the ice. I can go through 24" of ice in about 15 seconds. If you carry it just below the engine (on the auger axle) it balances nicely for longs hauls - no problems!

·
Registered
3,666 Posts
the only bad thing i've heard about the strikemaster augers is replacing the blades, especially after fishing one of the "dirty ice" lakes. i heard the were pretty spendy and didnt hand sharpen well.

·
Registered
16,571 Posts
The "Lazer" blades are real spendy and I dont think you can shapen by hand.I have the single "chipper" blade and it is easily sharpened by hand with a vise and file.

·
Registered
2,547 Posts
i like eskimo augers, the only thing ive had a problem was i broke two sets of new blades, i got free ones because they were on warranty

·
Registered
3,666 Posts