Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
341 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
??? Can anyone get some pics of pressure ridges. I am new to ice fishing and wikipedia does not show anything only explains what they are. They do sound scary.

·
Registered
499 Posts
Sorry, I don't have pictures, but just picture the ice buckling or two edges pushing up against each other. For example, take two stacks of papers, one in each hand. Now, push these two stacks of paper towards eachother. When the edges meet they'll push up to form a vee. This is the same thing the ice will do. I hope this helps and trust me you'll know a pressure ridge when you see one.

Most importantly, be careful when crossing a pressure ridge. Some folks steer clear of them all together, but they can be crossed.

·
Registered
11,877 Posts
On rare accasions the ice will also buckle downward into the water, and form only a thin skim coat over an icy hole into the depths. That's really scary!!

·
Registered
499 Posts
gofindyourowndamnfish said:
On rare accasions the ice will also buckle downward into the water, and form only a thin skim coat over an icy hole into the depths. That's really scary!!
Great point! Just like a good lawyer covering all the angles eh? ;D

·
Registered
11,877 Posts
checkers8 said:
gofindyourowndamnfish said:
Great point! Just like a good lawyer covering all the angles eh? ;D
I almost bought it in one of those years ago in the pre-dawn. Only a shout out in the dark from another fisherman saved me from walking right into it. He had seen it in the daylight the day before when it was open water. When the sun came up and I got a look at what I almost stepped into it changed forever how I ice fish. For that reason my first trip of the season out onto any lake in the winter is never in the dark.

·
Registered
462 Posts