Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I stumbled onto this forum while doing some research for a trip I’ll be taking in a couple of weeks. I’ll be visiting a friend in Colorado Springs and plan to do a little bit of skiing, but realized it might be fun to try and fish a little as well. From what I can tell it looks like the tail waters of the Pueblo Reservoir have some amazing fishing and I would like to check it out for an afternoon. I’m not looking to steal anyone’s hidden secret, just looking to spend a nice afternoon catching a fish or two. I’ll be traveling very light with a four-piece 8wt rod, probably not much room for proper waders. Is it possible to do much from the shore or just getting in the water a few feet? Anyone going to be out and want to show me around?

Some perspective:

I’m a father of three kids under 7, I work as an ICU RN, I don’t get a chance to travel much, let alone fish. Just want to unwind a little Doing something I love.

Thanks to anything you have to offer, and please let me know if I’m to do a proper introduction somewhere.

Erik

·
Registered
16,634 Posts
There will be about 200 people on that stretch with you. I'm sure they will help you out!

·
Registered
2,593 Posts
Now that you mention it, it must be excellent fishing as nobody ever posts about the Pueblo tailwater. Silence is a strong indicator of good fishing...

With that, I did a quick google search for "reservoir tailwater" and the 6th picture is a Nice walleye from the Pueblo tailwater....of all places....

·
Registered
9,427 Posts
the water might be high if they have to dump from the lake, they will start releasing some into the ditch on the 15th but if they cant drain enough in the ditch they might dump into the river. the normal high water level in the lake is 4883 and now it is 4888

·
Registered
20 Posts
Yes,there are several access points directly below the dam. Google maps it.