Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! I am new to fishing and am trying to teach myself how to catch anything I can get my hands on. I have watched a lot of videos for bass and have a small amount of gear for that and also have learned to trout fish mainly with a inline spinner. Anyways, I live in Pueblo Colorado, I usually fish runyon lake and done very little at the reservoir. I have not caught much and I do not have access to a boat. I am a college student so funds are limited. I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction for maybe some good places to practice some of my bass tactics and also any tips on how to catch them would be great, Thanks all :)

·
Registered
6,425 Posts
Hi all! I am new to fishing and am trying to teach myself how to catch anything I can get my hands on. I have watched a lot of videos for bass and have a small amount of gear for that and also have learned to trout fish mainly with a inline spinner. Anyways, I live in Pueblo Colorado, I usually fish runyon lake and done very little at the reservoir. I have not caught much and I do not have access to a boat. I am a college student so funds are limited. I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction for maybe some good places to practice some of my bass tactics and also any tips on how to catch them would be great, Thanks all :)
Join a Bass club. Contact Fountain Valley Bass Club or Pikes Peak Bassmasters they are the closest clubs to you...

·
Registered
11,847 Posts
Well, in my opinion, it's wise to start simple and learn one thing at a time. Tube jigs are a great bait that works for countless species in most colorado waters. Olive are great and so are white... I would stick with 3" using an internal jig head that is 1/4oz-3/8oz. Stay away from tubes that have glitter or flash.