Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
368 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am currently fishing with a Redington Crosswater 9ft, 5wt rod (i am a beginner). But I think I am ready to jump to a higher line of rod. I am thinking of Redington RS3.

Has anyone had any experience with the RS3 and what is the difference between the Crosswater and RS3.?

·
Registered
1,204 Posts
Just a few questions for you to consider. Why do you feel you want/need a new rod if you're just a beginner? How long have you been flyfishing? Do you fish mostly nymphs or dries? Have you had your existing rod long enough to appreciate things such as line loading, shock waves, backbone into the wind (or better yet, against a heavy fish!) or even the weight of the rod after a long, 8-10 hour day of fishing? I ask these questions because I believe that until you have really learned the 'feel' of your rod you can't understand what it is that you're trying to change/improve upon by buying a new rod - unless you have a tendency toward collections. You may also find that by having a real good feel for your current Redington that you'd do a better evaluation of not only Redington but other fly rod lines.

Please don't get me wrong, when I lived in Alaska and got started flyfishing nearly 30 years ago I had a Fenwick fiberglass rod and it was great for turning over large ugly flies to innocent large trout. Now I often throw size 20-22 dries to savvy trout in Colorado. Different circumstances, different rods for sure. But over the years I also developed a feel for the afore mentioned things and I like to believe that each of my rods (and I have many) addresses one or more of those different problems or situations. I still sometimes reach for that $50 Cabelas 8'6" - 6wt for nymphing because it has backbone and a quick tip. Or even the $85 four piece pack rod. Just because I own some $400-600 rods doesn't mean that they're the best rod all the time.