Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
F

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The arsenal was once a great place to catch trophy pike and largemouths. Although I'm only 25 years old I'm an arsenal veteran. I remeber when you did have to draw to get a pass to fish in the arsenal and being able to fish all week long. Back then it seemed like the fisherman cared and respected not only the fish but the whole refuge a lot more. The fishing has been on a steady decline for the past few years with more idiots fishing there and I've noticed the class gets shorter and shorter every year. I think we should all make a phone call to the wildlife managers at the arsenal and let them know there is a huge problem. Here are a few things I think need to be changed immediatly

1. Anglers fishing Ladora must always have jaw spreaders within their reach. If your fishing for Big pike without jaw spreaders you might as well toss them on the bank after you struggle for 10 minutes to get the hook out. (I know some of us that have been pike fishing for years usually don't need them, but if your like me you always have them just in case)

2. The class needs to been more in depth and not only cover proper fish handling and gentle release practice's, but have a deminstration(spelling bee champ) of some kind so you can help people learn visually as well.

3. Have tackle checks more often!!! I've seen guys on the boardwalk mess with a deeply hooked largemouth for 5 minutes....WHY? you ask they didn't even have a pair of needle nose pliers in there tackle box. COME ON!!!!

4. I honestly think a test at the end of the class and a tackle inspection should be put in place for the 2006 season. No pliers No fishing!!! No jaw spreaders No ladora fishing!!!