Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to ice fishing and want tips on what i need, like what pound test on line, bait etc. also where is a good place thats rookie friendly. Im from Huntington Beach, Ca and been living here for 5 months. Now that i can't surf everyday, all i want to do is fish. I love it here in Colorado so far. People are really friendly and its not as crowded as HB. And props to ColoradoFisherman.com for helping out fellow fisherman.

·
Registered
4,799 Posts
Any of the front range lakes open to ice fishing are good for trout. Just get some live minnows, split shot and #8 hook and you will catch fish. If you head up into the hills just over kill the clothing you wear and get some good boots. Just ask quastions on the site when the season gets here and where your planning on heading to, allot of the guys on this site will give you tips on what to use etc.

·
Registered
7,704 Posts
Bare minimum - - -

- hand auger. I recommend a 6 incher, drills fast, and blades last awhile. You can pick them up on here used often, or watch for sales. Maybe $35/$40..

- skimmer. I recommend metal (around $9) because you can set it down in the wind (some wind). Plastic ($3), and lighter

- bucket to carry gear (free or $5)

- jigs I recommend Custum jigs Ratt Finkees ($1.50 appiece) Sportsmans has immitations for 55 cents.

- spoons Sweedish Nipples ($2.50)

- Live bait (wax worms - $3) or other.. (Power Bait Wigglers $3.50 or Gulp waxxies $5.50)

- rods. Don't have to be expensive. I recommend a spring bobber. That'll make even $10 Wal Mart ice combos work (but I'd replace the line or add a foot or two floro leader)

- line 2 or 3 pound ice line

Aside from that, good boots, and warm clothes

Be safe, Colorado ice can be sketch due to fluctuating temps, water levels, and underground springs.

gofindyourowndamfish posted this last year, and every ice angler should check it out..