Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

Which one is the real thing?

• [img width=400 height=300]http://ck37.image.pbase.com/image/47564154.jpg[/img]

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • [img width=400 height=300]http://ck37.image.pbase.com/image/41888598.jpg[/img]

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
3,144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just thought it would be fun to see what people think about these two mounts. One of them is a skin mount and one is a replica...

·
Registered
2,678 Posts
If i had to guess, i would say the pike is the replica...

·
Registered
6,542 Posts
I would guess the Laker is the Replica?

I had a skin mount of a 7 1/2 lb Largemouth start cracking and drying out after 12 months :mad: Get the Replica and release the fish if you can.

·
Registered
2,678 Posts
Ahh, its a musky. ive only hooked one small one in my time, so im not very good at identifying them...

either way though, i still think the laker is the skin mount. the heads and mouths of fiberglass replicas always have a peculiar look, and as far as i can tell it looks to be the fake of the two...so im stickin with my first decision...

by the way, thats a nice looking skin mount of your pike, Don...

·
Registered
2,018 Posts
Even thought the muskie looks like it has a bad paint job (maaco) I voted for the muskie the lake trout has picture next to it like most replicas do...just my throry..

TH

what is the average cost per inch for a skin mount compared to a replica anyone know?

·
Registered
2,678 Posts
Maybe Work2fish had his musky painted at Earl Shives...

Im just kidding Work...at least you have a musky...let me check mine. yup, as i thought, i still dont have one, so who am i to poke fun

·
Registered
3,144 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
TroutHunter said:
Even thought the muskie looks like it has a bad paint job (maaco) I voted for the muskie the lake trout has picture next to it like most replicas do...just my throry..

TH