Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Steel or lead?

I'm fairly new to this slabbing technique, I've always fished kasties in a slabbing type retreive. I was just curious what everyones thoughts are on lead vs. steel? I can see how lead might help you feel the bottom and light bites better but will it flutter and flash the same as steel?

·
Registered
6,542 Posts
Get right on top of the fish and use a heavy spoon or blade. Whether you use mono or braid make sure the line diameter is at least 10-12 test. Thicker line allows your spoon to flutter instead of drop like a rock! Makes a huge difference in how many strikes you will get during the day. I like casting reels with a flipping switch for this application!

To me slabbing is a vertical presentation. Casting spoons is totally different technique. I have caught hundreds of walleye just casting out a 1/4 oz Kroc and ripping it back to shore. Same with blades.

·
Registered
6,542 Posts
Oh sorry. It doesn't matter what the spoon is made of. I use 1 oz Hopkins a lot. If they want a smaller bait? try the new Tungstun spoons! They are very weight dense for their size!

·
Registered
16,618 Posts
Ive always done better casting than vertically jigging them. I think covering more area is a good thing. Plus if the wind comes up it is a PITA to work them vertical-

·
Registered
6,542 Posts
Slabbing is for fish hanging in deeper water that are schooled up and usually in a negative or neutral mode. Usually you are targeting fish from 25- 50 feet deep hanging on channel edges and humps. Really shines in late fall and winter.

During spring when the dinks are all over the flats feeding, anything will work! But small spoons rip jigged across the flats will catch a lot of them.

·
Registered
9,427 Posts