Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I am a newbie to Co, just moved to Boulder about two months ago from MN. Itchin to take adavantage of the mild weather here and get after some fish.
I mainly target walleye, but will chase others species as well. So far I've spent a little time out on the Boulder Res., just because it is so close to home. Unfortunately, it iced over again, so I was unable to get out on the water the last couple of days. I was thinking of heading on down to Pueblo sometime here in the next couple of weeks, any other bodies of water with good walleye populations to reccomend? Is Cherrcreek worth a try?

Just thought I'd open a thread, see what type of advice you folks can throw out.
I am not expecting any Great bites this time of year, but would like to familiarize myself with some of the fisheries so I am comfortable come pre-and post spawn fishing.
Seems like slow/slow presentations deep, along the edges of basins and channels, or other structures seems to be the ticket.
I'll post more questions and feedback in the future. Thanks to all

·
Registered
3,655 Posts
the lakes i;ve had best luck for walleye are chatfield boyd and carter at carter i;ve caught walleye more than anywhere and it usually stays open year around

·
Registered
9,266 Posts
Id also have to echo chatfield! Wont find alot of monster but a chance for good numbers.

Welcome to the site!!!! Dont forget about the mag!

[me=Jay_In_Parker] [/me]

·
Registered
410 Posts
Don't forget about boulder res. My friend has done well out of his flaot tube along the dam in april and may. Have also heard some good reports when it ices up. Just have to walk a little bit to get to some good spots for now. If you have a boat call and check into when they start selling passes for this summer. They go quickly.

JT

·
Registered
152 Posts