Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow casters I just moved here from hawaii I've been fishing in salt water since I was a kid and I'm new to the rivers and lakes I'm not sure how the fish react or what they do or where they like to hang out or what to use as bait I felt like a idiot casting 30 yards in a lake in Denver this past Easter when every one else was casting like 5 feet away from where they was standing so just hoping to get a little advice to understand the change I need to make thanks

·
Registered
740 Posts
Welcome to the site! That is quite a change no doubt. I thought moving from MI to CO was a learning curve and it was to be sure but nothing like your change. My best advice is to meet a few people here and fish with them. I would offer but I am based in COS and focus on South and West of COS. Another suggestion I have is watching a show called "Fishful Thinker" and "Terry Wickstrom Outdoors". The Terry Wickstrom Outdoors show is also on the radio LINK
I hope this helps and enjoy learning a totally new way of fishing and a beautiful place to boot :)

·
Registered
38 Posts
Where you at Hanapaa? I'm near Greeley and could use a partner now and again in my 2 person nucanoe.

I would feel the same way if I moved to Hawaii and started fishing there lol I'd be lost! So don't feel bad. Get on Facebook too and join some pages like "hard water warriors" or "clear water warriors" or "Colorado kayak fishing club" you will meet people that way and get some useful info too.

This time of year think slow. Fish are still lethargic and are just warming up. Some species like bass, walleye, crappie are spawning roughly around this time of year depending on water temp. The only fish that hit hard and don't get so lethargic are trout species and other cold water species. It really just depends what you're trying to catch

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5