Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3,722 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me start by saying I am not a techie. I am certain that my current set up has features I don't know about. But I'm looking to add a sonar to the bow of my Lund. I currently have a Lowarance at the helm. Not sure if I care (or can) network the two.

I thought I wanted another Lowarance, but the Cabelas guy was showing my a Hummingbird that he said would likely integrate with my iPilot Terrova better.

So I am looking for advice on what to get. My budget is $1000 or under, and I want to buy at Cabelas since I have been banking points on my visa. I think I would like to use the transducer on the Minnkota (unless you convince me otherwise), and hook it to what I think is power already at the bow.

So, what is your advice?

Here is what I already have at the bow of the boat.

The back of my current sonar.

Current sonar at the helm.

·
Registered
11,847 Posts
I'm interested to hear the sonar gurus reply to this. Sonar is one of my weaknesses. I have two Lowrance HDS 7 units.. They work great for me, but my technology is pretty old at this point. You already have the ipilot, so your boat is already a gem.... adding a good unit will be cool. I probably need to upgrade so again, looking forward to replies on this one.

·
Registered
3,945 Posts
The more $$$ the better? :biggrin1: I haven't looked at Electronics for a while. Pretty cool they have down and side scan in that price range now.

·
Registered
936 Posts