Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I only moved here five years ago I am still learning about the various Ponds on the front range. Growing up in MIchigan one of are prize fish are steelies is there a place like spinney or elevenmile that has land locked steelhead.

·
Registered
4,307 Posts
I don't think so .... just Kokanee in Colorado...I visited MI last summer for first time...fishing paradise... I caught fish everywhere i went...and I barely fished a small percent of the waters around me... can't wait to get back.

·
Registered
702 Posts
Maybee someone can correct me but I thought landlocked steelhead were simply rainbows?

·
Registered
6,797 Posts
very similar but grow larger some grow much larger

i think colorado might have stocked some in an expeirement many years ago cant remember if it was stealhead or some other salmon

·
Registered
9,266 Posts
A steal head is a sea run rainbow. No sea, No sea run. Not sure if its a sea run rainbow like the rainbow we have here. Might be a different strain?

[me=Jay] [/me]

·
Registered
283 Posts
years back when we use to go camping on the elk river by steamboat the bows would run and i remember some one telling me they where steel head they where long and there was alot of them. just check around because colorado has many diff speacies of non native fish. like greyling, arctick char, and i think in the north west part of the state we have bull trout.

·
Registered
3,172 Posts
I was watching a TV show and I think they said they are "genetically identical" to a rainbow.

In any case, they are smart little turds. Watched my old man hook into one at Diversey Harbor in Chicago and it ran right at the pylons holding the rocks, slapped its tail against them and got the line wrapped. Bye bye fish...

·
Registered
1,497 Posts
This is from the NAFC Understanding Freshwater Game Fish, page 106-107:

Rainbow Trout