Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
664 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I had a day off today I braved the weather and hit the lower poudre. Broke the tip off my rod in the first 10 minutes and fought my guides Icing up but ended up having a good day and the bonus was there wasn't anyone around for miles.

I did catch this deformed sort of rainbow(13")...one of it's pectoral fins is missing....just a stump. It doesn't look like an injury to me but a deformity. The other pectoral fin is there but stumpy with a finer tip. I have caught other 'bow's in the Poudre with the same deformities. Does anyone know what the deal is with these?

Caught some decent (13-17") browns too and I have a question about these since I am kind of new to this trout thing....My understanding is that some Browns die after spawning (but not all)...Is this correct? I saw a few dead browns in the river and caught a couple that were dull and blackish and didn't look like they'd last long (though they were eating apparently) I also caught one 17" that was BEAUTIFUL...bright and strong and hit my rapala like a freight train.

If they do die after spawning and you catch them with the dark post spawn coloring is it ok to eat them if they don't look like they'll make it? Do they taste different with spawning colors? And finally...probably a really dumb question...are they red meat like salmon and wild rainbows? I have never eaten browns before. 

D

·
0 Posts
Your rainbow looks like maybe the fish was "marked" at the hatchery by clipping the pectoral fin.

Trout don't necessarily die after spawning. Sometimes the r5igors of spawning will stress the fish to the extent they succumb to disease and end up dieing.

I don't usually kill any brown trout, so I can't answer your other questions.

·
Premium Member
10,399 Posts
Alot of stocker trout have damaged fins its caused at the hatcheries rubbing up against each other and what not.