Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the mack fishing . Anyone have any suggestions for success? I have only used tube jigs w/ sucker meat on them.
Thanks!

·
Premium Member
10,399 Posts
Do you subscribe to the Magazine? There have been some great articles about Lakers in there. You should see if you can pick an issue up somewhere.

·
Registered
4,800 Posts
99% of the people in this site will tell you to use tubes with cut bait.. Success depends on the lake but fish 30-70' move around and you will catch Macks. Granby Green and Williams are some good lakes if your coming from denver. Also buy a lake map and look for humps, flats next to deep water channels and you should be in the right area.

·
Registered
376 Posts
I have had equal success with airplane jigs, swedish pimples, and even large kast masters tipped with sucker meat jig them every once in awhile to put some flash in the area. They work better if you have a finder cause you can spook the fish real easy if your not careful.

·
Registered
2,927 Posts
I've been using a white tube jig/bucktail hybrid lure created by freshwater basics this year with pretty good success thus far. I tip it with anchovie and maybe smelly jelly too (but do not smear smelly jelly on the tentacles, it causes them to stick together and not flutter). I also use a "stinger hook" which is a small treble off of the mainhook to hook the lakers better. It seems to make a difference.