Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys. i see that some of these swimbaits weigh upwards of 7 oz or more. i know people cast em. my question is what the hell kinda rods are being used? 10 foot saltwater poles?

·
Registered
5,192 Posts
I prefer a 10' ugly stick
Slings them out there

·
Registered
3,945 Posts
hey guys. i see that some of these swimbaits weigh upwards of 7 oz or more. i know people cast em. my question is what the hell kinda rods are being used? 10 foot saltwater poles?
I thought about using a surf rod, but I figured it would just give those swimbait snobs another reason to laugh at me (and I mean "another" cuz I'm sure they have plenty already). :p Yeah, just get yourself a swimbait rod.

·
Registered
1,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I'm new to this fishing thing but I love it. I don't see myself using swimbaits yet. Just like to soak up as much knowledge on fishing as I can. I'm sure that in time I will wanna try it. Thanks a lot

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
I'm new to this fishing thing but I love it. I don't see myself using swimbaits yet.
Don't do it. Don't try big swimbaits. It's addictive, expensive, not very productive, and people (and many fish) will laugh at you and ridicule your efforts. All the time. ;)

If you ignore the above, then you can get an XH or XHH swimbait rod to throw the 7+ ounce baits. You might make friends with your local orthopedic surgeon, too. I did...

·
Registered
6,542 Posts
I use a 7.9 foot Dobyn's rod rated up to 3 oz. and love it. I also have A 7' Musky Bucktail rod to throw anything heavier. I bought the Dobyn's from Tackle Warehouse.

·
Registered
3,945 Posts
Don't do it. Don't try big swimbaits. It's addictive, expensive, not very productive, and people (and many fish) will laugh at you and ridicule your efforts. All the time. ;)