Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
901 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been using these lures for around seven years now and it's time to update my supply. I know it depends on conditions and species targeted, but I was wondering what your "old reliable" flavor is? I would be mainly trout fishing on lakes and streams, but please share for any species.

My go-tos have been the yellow wings and x-mas lights with a newfound foundness towards the pink panther.
http://www.wigstonslures.com.au/pages/frames/rangefr.html
Thanks

J

·
0 Posts
I like hot pink - have used them and caught rainbows, kokanee, and pike on them. I like to switch it up sometimes and rig them backwards.

They're terrific!

·
Registered
3,144 Posts
I haven't tried all the colors by far, but here are four I've had success with:

26. Pink Lady

55. Pink Panther (my favorite)

51. Xmas Tree

58. Traffic Lights

·
Registered
4,755 Posts
Sorry to say, I don't know if they'll catch fish or not.

I bought a big handful of them this spring, and I blush to admit, never got around to even tying one on. [hanging head in shame]

Well, I'll give them a workout next spring, for sure. ;D

·
Registered
1,734 Posts
I never feel like I'm fishing these properly. I have tied on both with the wire through the lure, and also directly to the hook. I have caught fish trolling them, but never on a retrieve. Any tips much appreciated.

·
Registered
901 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Just Ed said:
I like hot pink - have used them and caught rainbows, kokanee, and pike on them.  I like to switch it up sometimes and rig them backwards.

They're terrific!
I do that too. On the old packages I seem to remember one way was a faster action and the other was a slower action.

Jclay: I always use the wire. Sometimes I jig it a bit while reeling, but other than that I don't do anything special.

·
Registered
2,793 Posts