Colorado Fisherman Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
883 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There’s no fish in that creek!
As I asked around about a predominant creek that looks like great fishing all I heard was “that there are no fish in that creek, and if you do manage any they will be dinks!” I have been working around this little piece of water for about 10 years now but I never fished it. I have driven along it many times and it looks like it should be in Alaska and not here in Colorado. It sits nestled in between 14000 foot peaks that look down upon it like giant sentinels guarding its secrets. I have never seen anyone fishing this creek with anything other than bobbers and worms, and when asked how the fishing is people usually just kind of grumble about this or that but no one ever seems to be knocking them dead. Well enough was enough and I finally decided to give it a try.

I woke up late and scrambled to get my gear ready. It seemed that every thing was spread out and nothing was ready. After what seemed like an eternity I was finally gassed up and on the road and about an hour later I was parking. I love fall days and this one was exceptional. I got geared up and I was sweating by the time I was ready. The sun was so hot it felt like it should be July not early October. I just wanted to get into the water it looked so cool and clear. After a short hike through some golden aspens I was finally there.

The creek runs through a thick mixed conifer forest. In places it is a fast and powerful thing for its size. It cuts and erodes the banks and brings down trees and boulders as it scowers its way through the forest. In other places in just babbles along tranquilly flowing down the mountain, while in other places it bends back and forth carving its way through high alpine meadows. The character of the creek is as varied as the forces that have helped to shape it and I was excited just to be standing there.